Anthem Lights

Anthem Lights is an American Christian group originating from Nashville, Tennessee. The group has released one EP under their former name[1] and six albums under their current name.[2] The group’s debut album was released May 10, 2011 by Reunion Records.[3]

Anthem Lights began as a solo project for vocalist Chad Graham in the fall of 2007.[4] Both he and Alan Powell were living in Los Angeles, writing music for Graham’s solo project. As the final vocal work was being installed, Powell and Graham came to a realization that the songs being written would be more appropriate performed as a group.[5] It was then that Powell and Graham decided to alert their contacts at Liberty University in an effort to recruit members for what is now a singing group.[5] Powell and Graham’s contacts came to a consensus that Kyle Kupecky and Caleb Grimm would be the best candidates for the project. After receiving notifications by e-mail, Graham flew from Los Angeles to meet with Kupecky and Grimm, who gladly accepted membership. Powell joined the group at the last minute.[5]

The original name of the group was Yellow Cavalier.[6] The group recorded one self-titled EP under this name in 2009. The EP was released independently on May 26, 2009. The group changed their name to Anthem Lights before any other projects were released.[6]

The group’s name changed to Anthem Lights sometime after their independent release as Yellow Cavalier. Months later, the group signed to Reunion Records. Vocalist Kyle Kupecky comments about the meaning behind the name:[5]

These songs [and] this record is our anthem to the world saying, “Listen, we know there’s a lot of darkness in this life, but in the end, light is gonna win.” And we wanna be the light to people and just show them who the light of the world is.

On February 1, 2011, Anthem Lights released the Anthem Lights EP. Although it was the second EP by the group,[6] it was the first on Reunion Records and the first under their current name.[6] The EP received very positive reviews[2][7] and chart success as “Can’t Shut Up,” the first track from the EP, peaked at No. 42 on Billboards Christian Songs chart[8] and at No. 27 on the CHR radio charts.[9] The three-track EP is being deemed a sampler as all of the tracks on it will be featured on their debut album, which is also self-titled.[2] The album was released May 10, 2011.[6] The cover art is similar to the EP in that it is simply the official band photo under the official band logo. The only difference is the background color.

Chad Graham (left) and Alan Powell (right) performing on the 2011 Rock & Worship Roadshow

Anthem Lights performed on the Listen to the Sound Tour.[10] The tour was headlined by Building 429, since the tour carried the same name as their latest album, and it featured Revive. Anthem Lights performed on the 2011 Rock & Worship Roadshow tour along with MercyMe, Jars of Clay, and The Afters.

The album You Have My Heart was released on February 4, 2014.[11] The album Escape was released on October 14, 2014.[12][better source needed]

On February 1, 2016, former singer-guitarist-pianist Alan Powell left the band to pursue his growing career in acting.[13]

On April 7, 2017, they released their fourth album, Hymns. On October 12, 2017, they released their fifth album, Painted Skies. This is their first album with Spencer Kane.

On February 2, 2018, the band released a compilation album called Better Together: The Mixtape, which features an acoustic version of their song Better Together, along with solo music from each of the members, On March 16, 2018, they released their sixth album Hymns Vol. II.

Current members

  • Chad Graham – vocals
  • Caleb Grimm – vocals
  • Spencer Kane – vocals
  • Joey Stamper – vocals, piano, guitar, drums

Former members

  • Kyle Kupecky – vocals
  • Alan Powell – vocals, guitar, piano

Leave your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *